Fighting Monday Morning Blues

I am having Monday Morning Blues of a slightly different sort. And my Monday Morning Blues don’t start on Mondays but way before that, on Sunday evenings.

Weird you might think, considering I am not even working at the moment. Every day is like a weekend to me. How is a Monday then different from any other day? And I agree, these are not illogical questions to ask.

But you see, though I am not working, TCG vey much is. We spent the2 whole days together going out, shopping, watching movies, cooking, eating and relaxing.  After spending the whole weekend together starting Friday evening, I started to feel a little low and restless as Sunday night closed in on us, thinking how I will be left alone once again once TCG is off to work. So if my behavior over last two weeks is analyzed, I would say, I am the happiest on Fridays and a lot sadder on Sundays.

Sidenote: I hate, hate, hate when the alarm goes off on Mondays. Figuratively, that alarms is the cue for me to come out of my weekend reverie and get that ass up and moving. And annoying that TCG sometimes is, he lets it snooze for one whole hour at regular intervals of ten minutes before I finally kick him out of the bed. Everyday.

Coming back to the point, the silver lining on the cloud is that I now have soooo much free time on hand to do whatever I please. And I am really grateful for this. (Things I am grateful for: Reason #3). Things that I always wanted to do back in India but couldn’t ever do because I was always so caught up in the routine.  I say, routines are the worst things that can happen to anybody, they viciously entangle you and, oddly enough, put you in such a comfort zone that you often find yourself becoming  such a big, sluggish procrastinator, one who has to strongly fight inertia to get anything-out-of-routine done.

Today I woke up to a rainy and gloomy day.  I decided I will not let it puncture my mood and will make the most of my day. Quickly finishing my morning ablutions, I fired up my computer and logged onto Google, “How to bake an eggless cake?”

Baking… I am trying to avoid you and run away from you for the longest time now. No longer will I let you intimidate me. Enough is enough. I am going to take you heads-on and conquer you. And I promise, not too long away from now, you and I, we are going to be sort of thick friends.

I have been afraid of baking for so long now, it seems ridiculous. After all, how difficult can it be?  So I decided that either it will happen today or it will never happen. And it did.

So the ‘Mission Baking’ started and I got down to work. I read up a few basic recipes, saw a couple of videos and realized the following:

  • That only tin or glass moulds (specifically for oven) can be used.
  • That I don’t have the measuring cups or the spoons (but I will not let that dampen my spirits, I will resort to crude ways of measurement)
  • That I don’t have a good enough round or a square tin mould to stick in to the oven
  • That it’s possible to bake without eggs (Really)
  • That I don’t have either the cocoa powder or the chocolate chips (So what, I will bake a plain cake…vanilla is fun too)
  • That microwave with convection mode can also be used for baking (Sigh…and all this while I was putting off baking because we didn’t have a oven at home back in India, only microwave)
  • And where there is a will, there is a way (Even without so many things, I will at least know how a cake bakes, fluffs and rises)

After 20 minutes of search and knowledge gathering, I set to work. And in about an hour, my first cake was ready. How did it turn out? Not bad for the first time, considering I didn’t have half the ingredients and I didn’t know the ‘B’ of baking. It was fun and worth the trial. May be I should have baked for 5 more minutes. It was a little tender inside. But I am a little more confident now that I have extended an olive branch to my hitherto enemy that oven was. I am telling you guys, ‘Oven’ is not as monstrous as it’s made out to be.  It can actually be our friend.

Here’s my first cake, prepared and baked by me… from scratch.

First Cake

First Cake

2013-03-18 12.59.10

Are you mocking the heart shape mould? 😦  Oh come on, it’s not all that bad 😛

7 thoughts on “Fighting Monday Morning Blues

  1. I say, routines are the worst things that can happen to anybody, they viciously entangle you and, oddly enough, put you in such a comfort zone that you often find yourself becoming such a big, sluggish procrastinator, one who has to strongly fight inertia to get anything-out-of-routine done…… this is so TRUE!! Bake away Zee!

Leave a Reply

